Before making a tenant’s eviction from your property, you must learn a few rules and regulations set by the Colorado state government. If you don’t follow the laws, the procedure can become complicated, and it will cost a lot of your time, effort, and money.
Therefore, we recommend reading the tenant eviction laws in Colorado thoroughly to avoid any difficulty in the end.
You must be thinking about the rules to remove the renter from your property with no lease. Don’t you? According to Colorado state law, you must have any legal reason to vacate the tenant from your place. These reasons include non-payment of rent, agreement violation, illegal or criminal activity, and end of lease span.
Keep reading the article, and we will tell you thoroughly about the legal reasons to remove the tenant and the steps to make the process easier for you. These steps will help you remove the renter as soon as possible and save you from the hassle of legal court notices and other difficulties in the way.
Reasons for tenant eviction
You should carefully follow the procedures before evicting tenants in Colorado. Otherwise, the court can remove your case and allow the tenant to live in your property until you complete the legal process again. Therefore, we recommend you follow our instructions carefully for each eviction reason separately.
The tenant didn’t pay rent
According to Colorado law, you can remove the tenant if he/she fails to pay the rent on time. As a property owner, if you have five or fewer properties, you will send a five-day rent pay notice to the renter. If the tenants fail to pay rent in the given time, you can file an eviction case against him.
However, if the renter is your employer, you should send a three days payment notice. In all other cases, you will send ten days’ notice to the tenants before proceeding with the eviction process.
If your renter is involved in any illegal or criminal activity such as drugs, kidnapping, or any other, you can instantly send three days eviction notice to him/her. You don’t need to warm him/her to quit the violation in this case.
If the tenant doesn’t move from your property in three days, you can file a lawsuit case against him in court.
Lease terms violation
If the renter violates the lease terms such as property maintenance, security deposit, or any other rules, you should give him/her ten days’ notice. If the renter fixes the violation in this span, then it is ok.
However, if he/she neither follows the lease rules nor leaves the house, you can immediately end the legal agreement, and file a case against the tenant.
End of Lease/No Lease
If the lease has ended and the tenant is still staying in your property, you can send him eviction based on the criteria discussed below. All these criteria depend on the time the renter spends on your property. If the tenant has spent less than a week on your property, you should give him one-day legal notice to vacate.
However, if the renter is living in your place for more than a week but less than a month, you should send him three days’ notice to quit.
In comparison, if the renter is renting your property for 1-6 months, you should send 21 days’ notice. Furthermore, if he/she has lived in your property for 6-12 months, you should send 28 days eviction notice legally.
In the end, if the tenant has rented your property for more than a year, you should give 91 days’ notice to leave the place.
According to Colorado law, if you want to evict a renter from your property, you must have a solid reason and a prior eviction notice. You can go above and check all the valid grounds for renter eviction along with legal formalities for your ease.
Writer and content creator interested in Entrepreneurship, Marketing, Jobs and Business issues. I have a bachelor’s degree in Communication from the Andrés Bello Catholic University, VE, and I also studied at Chatham University, USA. In this blog I write and collect information of interest around unemployment.