There are many reasons for a suspended driving license, while most of them are obvious. Whatever the reason behind suspension is, you have to get it reinstated because you have to drive. People rely on a vehicle to reach their work or colleges or universities but also for meeting up with friends or family.
This means you cannot leave your driving license suspended and you need to get your paperwork done as soon as possible.
Coming back again on the roads and restoring a driving license is not an easy task. The reinstatement process becomes tougher especially when you don’t know why you were punished and the main reason behind the driving license suspension.
How Long Does a Driving License Suspension Last?
As already mentioned, reinstating your suspended driving license is not a one-day task. It needs patience. The period of the suspension of this important document varies. It depends on the infraction and the date of the issuing of the license.
What To Do To Get Your License Reinstated
Reinstating the driving license is a time-consuming process but it does not mean that getting it back is not possible. The license reinstatement depends on the state you live in and the major reason behind the suspension of the license. Next, the content tells you what you have to do to reinstate it back.
In most of the driving license suspension cases, the driver is asked to take an approved class. It is because most of the driving licenses are suspended due to reckless driving, DUI, or collection of points.
Taking an approved class is important to make sure that next time you are legally on the road, you do not repeat the same mistakes. It includes the DUI programs and the defensive driving programs.
The DUI programs educate the DUI offenders/drivers on the consumption of drugs or alcohol on the roads while driving. The duration of the course depends on the number of mistakes on the road. For first-time offenders, the program time is less than the regular offenders.
Some states of the USA ask the suspended driving license holders to take a defensive driving course or improvement classes. These classes educate you on the basics of driving and safety measurements to be taken on the road.
A punishment always comes with a fine. So if you apply for reinstating your suspended driving license, keep in mind you will have to pay the fine too. The driving license reinstatement fee is different in different states or countries.
For instance, in South Dakota, the license reinstatement fee ranges between $50 to $200. In Michigan, the fine ranges between $ 25 to $ 125. The amount of fine depends on the cause of the suspensions and if it was your first-time mistake or you are a repeater.
If your driving license is suspended in the past too, then you are supposed to collect an SR-22 form. The SR-22 form is also known as a certificate of financial responsibility. It is required for legal driving on city roads. In some states of the USA, it is known as the SR-44 form.
The basic purpose of the SR-22 or SR-44 form is to let the state show that the driver is already meeting the requirements of the state’s auto liability. This document shall be accompanied by proof of insurance.
However, not all auto insurance companies give you this form. If this happens to you, you have to purchase the SR-22 or SR-44 form from some other auto insurance company.
Writer and content creator interested in Entrepreneurship, Marketing, Jobs and Business issues. I have a bachelor’s degree in Communication from the Andrés Bello Catholic University, VE, and I also studied at Chatham University, USA. In this blog I write and collect information of interest around unemployment.