How to change your name in Texas
How to change your name in Texas, you might be wondering, here are the steps to the exact procedures, for the easiest and quickest way to do it.
So, keep reading to learn how to change your name in Texas.
There are many reasons for you to want to change your name and the procedures to do it is going to vary depending on that reason.
The first step to take is to establish the motive or cause to change your name in Texas.
Motives to change your name
Taking your spouse’s last name
If you are recently married and want to take your spouse’s last name you should or simply added it to yours (with or without a hyphen), there is no need for a court procedure.
To get your name change you will just have to bring your marriage certificate to the county clerk’s office to file it with an identification document and proof of your Social Security number. They will charge you with a fee in the range of $30 to $85 it will depend on the county you are located in.
The certified copy of your marriage certificate can be obtained on the Vitals’ Records Web page and it will cost you an additional fee.
Name change when getting divorced
In case you are getting divorced and you want to change your name, the procedure is to request it at the form of the divorce petition. When you get your final divorce decree, your name change will be included.
Then you can apply for it at the clerk’s office and skipping going to court.
Name change for a minor
When you are changing the name of a child because he or she is less than 18 years old, it will require the same procedures of an adult name change.
The difference is that it requires for the parents or legal guardian consent, for the name change in a document. In addition, if the child is 10 years old or older, must also consent for the name change.
Find out more on changing a child’s name in this link: statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.45.htm
Not only marriage or divorces are reasons to change your name, but there are also a number of causes such as politics, religion, personal desire.
Steps to change your name
Get your fingerprints taken
In order to change your name, you should get your background checked. The State has to make sure that you are not changing your name to escape a felony.
To do so, you have to go to the local law enforcement agency check the nearest to you here: https://www.policeone.com/law-enforcement-directory/search-by-state/Texas/ they will get your fingerprints to check your background.
But, first, you have to fill out a form, click here to obtain it: https://eforms.com/images/2017/11/Fingerprint-Card-Form-FD-158.pdf
Both the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Federal Bureau of Intelligence (FBI) must get your fingerprints for checking, the process will cost you a fee of $15 and $14.75.
It can be mailed to this address:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Central Cash Receiving
PO Box 15999
Austin, TX, 78751-5999
Download and fill the correspondents’ forms
It is important that you do not sign the form, leave that signature space in blank because the petition can only be signed in the presence of a public notary.
The Order Form has to be signed by the judge when the name change approval is made, therefore the dating space should be left blank as well.
Go to a notary
To make sure that the information is given in the petition form it’s accurate, it is necessary that a public notary is present when signing it. To locate your nearest local public notary, check Online the Secretary of State or go to your local bank they may exonerate the notarization fee.
There is also a private notarization service that you can check Online here: http://www.123notary.com/texas_notary/
Do not forget to bring along an identification document for the notary to verify your identity and data.
File your petition
Find out where the county’s courthouse is located to file your change name petition here:https://card.txcourts.gov/DirectorySearch.aspx bring your fingerprint and a copy of your identification to the court’s clerk. This procedure is going to cost you an amount between $200 up to $300.
After the filling, they will let you know the date of the hearing that you will have to attend to.
Attend your hearing date
You will have to visit the courthouse a second time at the date of your hearing, for your name change petition.
On the hearing, you must present your Order Form to the judge.
The court clerk should give you the rest of your documents before appearing in front of the judge. In some cases, the judge has the documents already.
It is important to know that the hearing may consist of making a sworn oath to the truthfulness of the delivered documents. The judge may also ask you to expose the reasons for changing your name.
If the judge considers your reasons and provided documents are accurate, your petition for changing your name will be signed to approve it.
Get certified copies
After the judge’s approval, you will have to ask the court’s clerk several certified copies of the order to change your name.
These duplicates are going to be the valid document to change your name in government’s agencies, financial institutions, and other institutions, for example, the university.
Change your name in your driver’s license
Usually, the driver’s license is one of the first identification documents that you update after having a name change, to do so, you have to get in touch with the Social Security Administration.
Then, fill out the Application for a Social Security Card Form to continue the process at the nearest location.
Once there, provide the legal court change name approval at the local Social Security Administration office (SSA), the process will take 30 days. Remember to bring your current driver’s license and the payment fee of the new card $11.
The SSA office will provide you a temporary driver’s license and in 45 days you will be receiving the new card at the address supplied by you.